Wheelchair Shotokan Karate Training

Today I had a killer Shotokan training session. My arm muscles and trunk burned it was such a great workout! My Sensei helps me adapt the art for wheelchair use. We collaborate on techniques that accommodate my level of injury. I am paralyzed from the chest down from a C6 spinal cord injury.

We worked on several punching and blocking techniques. I mimic kicking with arm movements. Some chair users substitute wheelies for kicks. I also worked on a kata today. Its exciting to dial in the art with snappy turns and tight stops and pushes, with quick turning too. Projecting your strength into your movements is very fulfilling and has made me much stronger and more able bodied.

I’m very excited to be a part of adapting arts (I do Ki Aikido also), and hope to share it with others in my demographic.

Aloha

964978_583471035020173_572201790_o

About DamonBoiser

My name is Damon Boiser I'm an Extreme Athlete for Mogo Wheelchairs. In 2003 I was injured in a diving accident in Hawaii. I'm an SCI wheelchair user. I've never lost sight of the funnier side of life and always maintain an upbeat charge 'em attitude. I've found joy in surfing and swimming, as well as martial arts. I created the tournament division in the Karate in Hawaii and took gold. I've also discovered the exhilarating sport of skydiving and am completely hooked! I enjoy rappelling too. Anything extreme I'll give it a go! Drive and passion for life inspires us to continue to push our boundaries. Anything is possible.. Aloha

Posted on May 25, 2013, in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I think this is absolutely fantastic and full credit to yourself. And your sensei for making karate adaptable for all.

    I train with Ronnie Christopher in England and have recently started a shotokankaratetraining blog that I hope youll enjoy.

    Osu.

    • That’s great! I’ll take a look..

      Martial arts is such a wonderful thing also in how it unifies people with a common interest around the planet promoting world peace and connection with one another.

      Aloha

Leave a Reply

