Cat with Nine Lives..

Lately I’ve almost fallen out of my wheelchair a few times and I almost ate it again today! I was talking to a wonderful lady while waiting for my ride. She reached out to shake hands but was a little too far away. I almost dove off the front of my chair lol. But she damseled my distress by giving me just enough support while we shook hands for me to scramble backwards into my chair. We laughed so hard then she came in for a hug. Dang I feel like a cat with nine lives with all these near falls!! 😛
 
The first time I flipped over I decided to go to therapy and work on flipping over and climbing back into chair. At first the therapists thought I was unhinged in asking for a potentially dangerous scenario that is always encouraged to avoid, not prepare for. And also in that I am a quadriplegic and this strenuous activity is technically far out of my ability. But I was determined and in a couple short months I developed this technique and proved everyone wrong. I remember what broke the barrier for me was I had to stop focusing on technique and just look at my chair like a tree and climb it!
 
Aloha
 
About DamonBoiser

My name is Damon Boiser I'm an Extreme Athlete for Mogo Wheelchairs. In 2003 I was injured in a diving accident in Hawaii. I'm an SCI wheelchair user. I've never lost sight of the funnier side of life and always maintain an upbeat charge 'em attitude. I've found joy in surfing and swimming, as well as martial arts. I created the tournament division in the Karate in Hawaii and took gold. I've also discovered the exhilarating sport of skydiving and am completely hooked! I enjoy rappelling too. Anything extreme I'll give it a go! Drive and passion for life inspires us to continue to push our boundaries. Anything is possible.. Aloha

Posted on May 30, 2013, in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Interesting technique. Becky has use of one arm, one leg, and so far we haven’t found a way for her to get back in her chair after a fall. Hmmm.

    • Thanks @chebandbecky! If you work on technique to cut down on assistance that’s helpful too. When I started, I needed a large person to basically carry me back in my chair. I kept improving upon my technique until I only needed a small person or child for assistance. Sometimes all you need is a little boost in the right spot. Its very liberating to be able to get in and out of chair 🙂

Leave a Reply

