Daily Archives: December 14, 2013

Beautiful Friends from Japan

Ten years ago in 2003 by chance I met Akihiko and Chiaki Aoki from Japan while visiting Hawaii in Haleiwa on Oahu’s North Shore. Akihiko was the first chair user I met in everyday life. Being new to my own injury he opened my eyes to the possibilities of my new life with demonstrating car transfers, the ability to drive, and travel abroad; and also at the option of marriage post injury.

Last week Akihiko and Chiaki returned for vacation here in Oahu and we had a lovely time together. We traveled back to Oahu’s North Shore for coffee and Matsumoto’s shave ice and beautiful sightseeing of beaches and surf. We also stopped at the center of the island to see the “Birth Stones”. It was amazing and very spiritual experience.

The following day we enjoyed dinner in Waikiki’s International Market Place. It was so wonderful to reconnect and I look forward to visiting Japan soon! Aloha 🙂

DamonSunrise

1485888_491101591005412_2107918588_o

